This afternoon I thought about tweeting about a “Big Girl Panty” moment. Since I first saw the Dolly Mama figurine with the phrase, “Put your big girl panties on and deal with it,” I’ve engraved it in my brain as positive self-talk when those situations arise that I really don’t want to deal with. I have a cross-stitch kit with the phrase, but it’s somewhere in my guest room closet with no guarantee to be completed.

I would describe Big Girl Panty Moments as those times when I want to pull out the “I’m Shy” or “I’m Single” or “I’m a Girl”  card instead of asking a question, putting myself out there, or plain doing something that’s not loads of fun. Sometimes it’s the icky jobs around the house that I feel like women shouldn’t have to do (i.e. kill bugs), and so I need the phrase to muster up strength. Most of the time BGP moments are important tasks that my job requires or that will make a difference in my personal development. Assertiveness, really. Today it was emailing to get an answer about a touchy situation that I had not heard back about. Making phone calls and sending those emails takes about everything I have in me.  Positive self-talk. I went on and on with a patient about it…we all need it. Maybe you need to use the BGP line on yo’self and get something done!

P.S. I really want to watch Top Gun. It’s been many moons since I’ve seen it. Does anybody have it?

P.P.S. Cooking posts are coming! I have pictures of a chocolate sour cream cake AND Once A Year Macaroni and Cheese just waiting for some creative instructions to come along.

