Tags

Last night I decided I should attempt Hot Cross Buns, like the ones featured on The Pioneer Woman,  and bring them in to the office for Good Friday. But I realized 9 p.m. was not the time to start a bread that needed rising. I scanned a few recipes and there weren’t any shortcuts that I saw. Rightfully so, some things just need some time and patience put into them. I still wanted to bring something in so I looked at muffin recipes. I debated between peach and strawberry ones in my Entertaining Friends cookbook and left it up to my feelings when I woke up this morning. Strawberry sounded a little spring-y so I took at it. Thankfully I didn’t take pictures, because all the time and effort made me late to work, the muffins didn’t make it in. They were a mushy mess! I don’t think I thawed my frozen strawberries quite enough, or maybe it was just too much juice in the batter. This is how baking goes for me: good idea but I don’t have time or rushing a recipe and it doesn’t turn out. It’s always a sigh of relief when something tastes good!

I love celebrations! I like cooking for holidays, and am narrowing down the recipes for family Easter lunch at my Grandma’s tomorrow and friend Easter lunch on Sunday. There’s no better event to celebrate in all of history than the Resurrection that means death is conquered forever and ever. There had to be a death for there to be a resurrection and life. So today we mourn because we killed the precious Son of God. Yet for those who believe, we rejoice that there was a Lamb who was worthy to die AND who chose to die because He loved us. Oh how He loves!

“…Now in putting everything in subjection to him, he left nothing outside his control. At present, we do not yet see everything in subjection to him. But we see him who for a little while was made lower than the angels, namely Jesus, crowned with glory and honor because of the suffering of death, so that by the grace of God he might taste death for everyone. For it was fitting that he,for whom and by whom all things exist, in bringing many sons to glory, should make the founder of their salvation perfect through suffering.” Hebrews 2:8-10
