Tags

, , , , , ,

I don’t do enough of anything like to make a Top 10 list of the year, though I love reading those that others write. I can’t even say I finished 10 books this year which is sad I know. But I do know what my favorite book was and I’m giving a copy to one reader who enters the giveaway!

Someone sent me a link to Katie Davis‘ blog, Kisses From Katie, over a year ago, and once I started reading it, I was hooked. Katie is beautiful, challenging, and honest about her unordinary (rather extraordinary) life living in Uganda with 13 adopted daughters. And she’s a 22-year-old single woman, who left for Uganda after graduating high school in Brentwood. She started Amazima Ministries which helps women learn vocations to support their families, offers child sponsorships, and community outreach in Uganda. Katie Davis is my person of the year and is one of the most inspiring, loving, faithful persons I’ve ever heard.

This fall I heard Katie was stateside and speaking at several churches. I went to hear her in Nashville, bought a bracelet I wear a lot, and bought 2 copies of her newly-released book, Kisses From Katie. My plan was to give one to my best friend, but a few days later she texted that her babysitter (also named Bethany) gave her a copy. So now I have one to give to a reader, and I hope you love it as much as Joy and I did.

There are lots of reviews on websites and endorsements from well-known people inside the cover. I add mine. What is the book about? Love, passion for children, orphans, adoption, Uganda, redemption, hope, pain, faith, changing plans, service, living, and ultimately as she writes in the introduction, “This is a book about a Christ who is alive today and not only knows but cares about every hair on my head. Yours too.” She shares her upbringing of a very normal American life before Jesus wrecked it. And she describes the journey of quitting her life in pursuit of the one offered in Scripture. The questions, concerns of others, and glimpses of daily life are well described in chapters separated by past blog entries, all wrapped up in a love for Him.

As I read it, I viewed everything through the day in the light of what it takes to live with her faith. I couldn’t carry on normal conversations for awhile. My heart was being broken and filled up at the same time. You will smile, dream, and cry through the pages of this book. It should come with a warning that you will not be the same after reading it, and if you are a follower of Jesus, you cannot continue life as you once knew it. You will reflect on everything that is important. And that my friends is a true gift for 2011.

To be in the drawing for this wonderful book, in the comment section, leave the name of the person who has most inspired you this year. The contest will close on 11:59 p.m. CST on December 21, 2011 when a random number will be selected. I will email the winner and announce it on the blog then mail it to you! If you don’t win, please buy it and read it anyway.

Merry Christmas to you and yours!

 

