Tags

, ,

So the icy weather allowed me some time to finish this, since it’s oh, HALF-WAY THROUGH JANUARY! Nevertheless I have resolutionz for 2013! So going backward, New Year’s Eve came all of the sudden, and I realized I needed to think what changes I wanted to make for 2013. There’s the typical “lose weight” one, but I felt like I needed something clear and directional for my life, a motto of sorts, especially since 2012 brought a lot of disappointments and rough times. Thankfully it came clearly.

My life motto for 2013 is “Cleaner House, Messier Life.” I just keeping thinking “Yes!” It’s not exactly the specific, measurable kind of thing (I need to add those parts), but it summarizes a lot of what I want to focus on this year.

Cleaner House. If you know me, you’ve probably heard me mention needing to clean my house or the state of mess my house is in. I’m really not a slob, just “cluttery” as my mom would say. I’m not a neat freak. I don’t mind a little mess when it’s just me, but when other people come over, I want my home to look clean and relaxing. So I need a routine or a plan to get more organized, clean regularly, and to enjoy where I live. Deep down this also means I want to use my house and the things I own to be used well, for my good and for the good of others. I want to take care of what God has given me and to bless others by it.

My first plan for a cleaner house is to go through each room, and purge the things I don’t want (sell, donate, or throw away–but I’m really green at heart and try not to do that). So far I’ve organized my attic and my Tupperware cabinet. This also means only buying things I really will use/need and love.

Messier Life. Um, this scares me, I’ll be honest. A few different friends began tapping on this door of thought before Christmas by challenging me to take more risks and to let the Holy Spirit lead me (and for them I am forever grateful). I’ve been playing this [life] too safe. Somewhere along the way I let fear creep into my life. Lots of emotions and behaviors boil down to fear. I am a daughter of the Creator of the Universe who causes everything to work out for my good and His glory. Who drives out fear with love and whose plans never fail! (Just preaching to myself, sorry)…I do know messier life means more risks, more faith, more serving others. More others period. Less of my thoughts and plans, more of the Lord’s. I sat down a few days into the year thinking, “I need to pray about this, because I don’t know what my motto means.” And the answer was “You don’t need to know what it means right now.” So yeah, that’s all I can write about it. 🙂

I also have 3 resolutions this year (not 10!) which are specific, doable, and the most important to me this year:

1. Get to my goal weight. (started…today)

2. Read the Bible in a year. (so far, so good)

3. Learn a new craft skill. (thought about)

I’ll hopefully do some updates about my progress. Here’s to all things new, friends!

Have you made resolutions? Or do you choose a word or motto for the year?

 

